2006 Google - O'Reilly Open Source Award

Chris DiBona, Open Source Programs Manager, Google, Inc.
Nathan Torkington, Conference Chair, O'Reilly Media, Inc.

Date: Tuesday, July 25
Time: 7:00pm - 7:15pm
Location: Portland Ballroom

At this years' OSCON, Google and O'Reilly will present the second annual Google-O'Reilly Open Source Awards.

Join your fellow developers and open source enthusiasts in saluting individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to open source in the past year.

During the OSCON Opening Night festivities on Tuesday, July 25, Google and O'Reilly will award five prizes of $5,000 each to individuals our judges* have recognized as the Best Legal Eagle, Best Toolmaker, Best All-Round Developer, Best Corporate Liaison, and Best Community Activist.

Last years' winners include:

  • Doc Searls for Best Communicator
  • Jeff Waugh for Best Evangelist
  • Geir Magnusson Jr. for Best Diplomat
  • Dr Richard Hipp for Best Integrator
  • David Heinemeier Hansson for Best Hacker

*Chris DiBona (Google), Tim O'Reilly (Founder and CEO of O'Reilly Media), Brian Behlendorf (CollabNet CTO and Founder), Nat Torkington (O'Reilly - OSCON Co-chair), Allison Randal, (The Perl Foundation & OSCON Co-Chair), Zaheda Bhorat (Google), David Ascher (ActiveState), Mark Stone (Plink Networks), Doc Searls (Linux Journal), and D. Richard Hipp (Hipp, Wyrick & Company, Inc.)